Welcome, This is the home of Crown Green Bowling in Wales
Croeso, dyma gartref Bowlio ‘Crown Green’ yng Nghmru
The Annual Stan Higham Trophy competition was held at St Asaph B.C. on Sunday 3rd April with eight members of the WCGRS taking part. On an excellently prepared green provided by the host club which provided some close games that saw D.T. Evans beat Peter Higham in the final. The Society would like to publicly thank the St Asaph club for the use of their facilities on the day and a special thanks to their green keeper for the green and its condition.
D.T.Evans will now represent Wales at the BCGRS Patrons Day Final to be held on 4th June 2022 at venue to be advised
LAWS OF THE GAME - FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
Do the new Laws 7.5 and 7.6 contradict each other?
The short answer is No. Reason – before the end is concluded i.e., when all the bowls have come to rest then Law 7.6 will apply and any player touching or displacing a still jack or bowl will forfeit all their bowls at that end. Once the end is concluded a player may move their own non-counting bowl without penalty but must not move the jack or a bowl claimed to count without the consent of the opponent or the offender will forfeit all their bowls for that end.
Are ‘smart watches’ used for health purposes allowed on the green?
Yes, if they are used to monitor the wearer’s health and are not used for any other purpose e.g., to accept messages, or listen to music, then they can be worn.
What happens if a player starts a game whilst wearing any form of open-toed footwear?
The player will forfeit the match receiving their score as is, and their opponent receiving the maximum score.
After a player forfeits a bowl, the end is subsequently declared ‘dead’ or ‘void. Does the player have the bowl reinstated for the replayed end?
No, any dead bowls can be reinstated but any forfeited bowls are still forfeit for the restarted end.
The leader at the start of the match moves the footer and places it 1.5 metres from the edge. Are they allowed to do so?
Under Law 2.5 the leader is entitled to place the footer anywhere within 3 metres on either side of the Entrance to the green and at least 1 metre from the edge but not more than 2 metres from the edge.
The leader in a pairs match sends their partner’s bowl. What are the consequences of doing so?
A. Law 5.13 states that if a player ‘delivers a bowl of another player …. the offender forfeiting a bowl’. Therefore, the player will forfeit a bowl and any subsequent bowls sent after the offending bowl are returned to be played in their proper order.
The leader forfeits the jack, e.g., not setting a mark or sending the jack off the green, and following the opponent’s delivery of the jack, the opponent delivers their bowl after the jack stops moving. Does the opponent forfeit their bowl?
No. Under Definitions D1a, the Leader must deliver the first bowl after any attempt to set a mark. The opponent sending their bowl first means the bowl was sent out of turn and therefore must be returned to be played in its proper order.
After a ‘dead’ end or ‘void’ end, i.e., no points awarded, who has the first attempt to set the mark for the new ‘end’?
The first attempt for the ‘new end’ is made by the player who set the mark in the ‘dead/void end’ but the leader, the player who scored the last point before the ‘dead/void end’ will deliver the first bowl to the jack.
What happens in a game of triples if the leader puts the jack off the green then the second member of the trio does the same.?
There is nothing in the Laws of the Game regarding a triples game. Law D14a states that a Game is a single contest between two/four players. As Guidance, in a triples game, if the leader and the second person had failed to set a mark then the third player would attempt to set the mark.
During a league doubles match, are members of who have finished their match and are not currently playing a match on the green, allowed to be on the green commenting on another’s players match guiding/coaching their teammates?
Rule 9.2 No person, other than the players and the Referee, is allowed on the green (except Measurers when their services are required).
Nothing in this Law will apply to severely disabled person who needs assistance on the green.
There is nothing in the Laws to stop coaching by people who are off the green. There maybe a problem with players from another game on the green offering coaching/advice to players as they could be considered not to be covered under Law 9.2 which is intended to apply to the players, referee and measurers for an individual game. Other players from another game could give an opinion on who is on just as is the normal practice in non- officially refereed matches e.g. league matches when a player asks someone off the green to advise them on who is on, as long as it is done at the appropriate time.
A jack rolling onto an edge mark looks as if it might go off the green. If you call it whilst it`s still running but it goes off before you get to it what happens? There may be is another question in here too, can you call `jack up` when it’s still running and stop and return it? Or must it be allowed to stop?
If a jack is rolling towards the edge of the green, then it should be allowed to continue until it goes off the green or stops, even if ‘jack up’ is called as its moving, unless of course it is likely to hit another jack or bowl in which case it must be stopped. If a `jack up` call is made I would let it come to rest or allow it to go off the green, as sometimes players call `jack up` then realise it isn`t actually going to stop on their line.
Player steps off the green to have a few `drags` on a cigarette, against the rules or not?
Definitely against the Laws. The player is still participating in the game even if they go off the green. This happened in a recent County Championship semi-final and the player lost the game 21-6, score was 6-6 when he did it.
Calling `long tapes` before first wood has stopped. The rules state that in this case, the leader has the option of having the jack and bowl returned to re-set BUT if he chooses to leave them, is the end then measured or does the end continue?
No, it is not measured. The opponent can not have two objections for same mark. If the leader wants their bowl to remain where it stops they can do so, and the end continues.
Any queries on the Laws of the Game should be sent to email@example.com.