The Welsh Crown Green Bowling Association is the Governing Body for Crown Green Bowling in Wales which was formed in 1925.

Click on the link below to follow The W.C.G.B.A. on Facebook.

The different sections of the 2014 season have now been moved to the previous seasons page, a link can also be found to the left of this page.

***The W.C.G.B.A. 2015 calendar is published below although there are still some details yet to be included, and as in previous years, will be updated with the results as the season progresses.(Last update 9th November 2014)***

  • Click here to view The W.C.G.B.A. 2015 Calendar.


    The following vacancies are available for next season:

    Selector - Men's County Team
    Ladies Veterans Team Manager
    Ladies Junior Team Manager
    Welfare Officer
    Press Officer
    Tournament Officer
    please e mail the CEO for details :

    Review of the Welsh Crown Green Bowling Season 2014.

    Compiled by Mal Parry.

    As usual a brief summary of the season..

    1/ When compiling this summary I usually try and look for a an outstanding team performance or an individual performance to put at the top, this year I have gone for a team performance, and that team is the Welsh Veterans team who first of all achieved the difficult task of qualifying for the final day of The British Crown Green Team Championships in Manchester, and then going to Stoke and winning the competition, the team was managed by Mike Barrodale.
    As in previous years the rest of the list are in no particular order of achievement, although number 2 in the list is quite special.

    Pictured below is the Veterans squad that won on the final day, and below that the squad that got through the qualifying rounds.

    2/John Bailey (Llanrwst) won the Welsh Senior Merit for the third time at Johnstown beating Carl Roberts (Esclusham) in the final, John is one of a number of players who has won it twice before, but is now only the third player to win it three or more times, following on from Eric Ashton's 5 titles and Gwyn Morris's 4 titles, John also won the Welsh Counties Merit all of which once again pretty much confirms him as still the top player in Wales.

    3/Graham Bennett (Cunliffe) ) won the Veterans Welsh merit at the first time of asking at Meliden, beating Phil Nash (St. Asaph) in the final.

    4/Amanda Nicholas won the Ladies Welsh Merit beating Jane Bowler in the final.

    5/The Welsh Senior Men's Team did not progress from the group stage but did have a promising result against Warwick & Worcester who have been the best county side for a few years now.

    6/The Junior team again had an excellent season and just lost out in the Semi-Final by 10 points to Warwick & Worcester, again this bodes well for the future.

    7/The Junior Merit was won by Jordan Riley.

    8/Katelyn Morgan Rowlands won the Ken Hardman trophy for the top ladies Junior.

    9/The Ladies team won a couple of games in the groups stage but could not progress to the knock out stage of the competition, although they did get to the final of the supplementary and only lost by the 1 point.

    10/Esclusham B.C. are undoubtedly the Premier team and club in Wales, but this does not just refer to their team but the whole package with regards to their green and facilities and other clubs can only aspire to follow them, they also have many youngsters who play on a regular basis on a Saturday morning and many of them will surly eventually work their way up through the teams.

    On the business end of things they won the Welsh Club Championship, retained the Prestigious Welsh Counties League winning it for the third year running, they also won The Wrexham Premier Division without losing a match all season, The Cyril Adams County Cup, The Division One Pairs League, and The Premier Division Cup.

    New Crown Greener Web Site.

    Click on the link below to see Threeways Garage Abergele. They have been sponsoring the Threeways Inter County matches for a number of years now.

    Click on the link below to see the co-op's services.

    This web site is primarily designed for Welsh crown green bowlers, but all are welcome to view it. Constructive feedback is always welcome.

    The intention of the site is to publish, record and keep all the latest information with anything to do with crown green bowls in Wales.

    When sending information to be posted on this site, please ensure, as best you can, that the details are correct, especially when it involves dates. Also if you send documents please send them in Word or Excel format and pictures in jpg which then makes the quality that much better, assuming the picture is any good in the first place!!


    Please come back again soon.

    Welsh Message Board.